I love grilling and smoking meat – pork, beef, fish, chicken, shrimp, clams, turkey. I guess it doesn’t end there, I also like grilling vegetables like corn and potatoes and garlic and onions. I’ve always enjoyed grilling, but the real turning point came for me when I bought a copy of The Passion of Barbecue from the Kansas City Barbecue Society. Following the suggestions in this book dramatically improved my technique and my appreciation for good ‘cue.

But that’s not the reason for this post. My thirteen year-old son, Steven, has grown more interested in cooking over the last year. We’ve been doing stir-fry together recently, but this last weekend he asked if he could try his hand at the grill. I’m thrilled to pass on some of the knowledge I’ve gained. We are going to start with barbecue pork chops tomorrow night using a rub and some soaked apple wood chips for smoke flavor.

